32I knew God laughed when I told him (her) my big plans for the future but, the other day I was given the opportunity to learn how he also chuckles at the smaller, everyday plans that to me, seem so insignificant that I didn’t even realise I had them.   My six year old son had become ill but he wasn’t listening to any of my advice that would help him get better in fact, he seemed to being doing everything he could to make himself feel worse.  I got very frustrated and angry and said some horrible things all of which, of course didn’t help the situation.   Then, I paused for a moment and asked myself “Why am I so stressed about this?”  the answer came immediately “Because, I have plans for the day and I want my son to get better so I get on with my plans.”   To be fair, the plans were not just for myself but for the whole family, we were all wanting to do something together but our son’s illness was stopping us.  This illness is not serious but re-occurring so we often have to drop everything to be with our son for a few days.    And, here is the lesson…I was feeling stressed because what I thought should be happening, wasn’t.   Oh, I can hear God laughing now, in that kind, non-judgemental, all knowing way my grandmother used to do when I would tell her of my plans to marry a rich man and have no children.     When I realised this, I just let go and surrendered to staying home with my son and guess what he got better.

I’m now wondering what would our lives look like if we were to totally surrender to “What is” in the moment.  What is our fear of surrendering.  I sense my own fear is about never leaving the house, never getting anything productive done every again, missing the opportunity to explore new places and do exciting things because if I don’t do all this then I might consider my live to be “Boring”.    Today, on Facebook I saw this post:

“Do not ask your children
to strive for extraordinary lives.
Such striving may seem admirable,
but it is the way of foolishness.
Help them instead to find the wonder
and the marvel of an ordinary life.
Show them the joy of tasting
tomatoes, apples and pears.
Show them how to cry
when pets and people die.
Show them the infinite pleasure
in the touch of a hand.
And make the ordinary come alive for them.
The extraordinary will take care of itself.”
~William Martin, The Parent’s Tao Te Ching: Ancient Advice for Modern Parents
The other night I watched, ‘Evan Almighty”, with Morgan Freeman playing God.   In one part of the film God, pretending to be a waiter, tells the main character’s wife, who has just left her husband because he is building an Ark on God’s command,  “Do you think if people pray for courage, God gives them courage or gives them an opportunity to show courage?  If they ask to be more patient do you think he makes them more patient or gives them an opportunity to practice patience?”
So, here I am asking to be less stressed and more in the present moment and all the time God is giving me exactly what I am asking for.  Thanks Big G.  you can stop laughing now, I get it!
Leave a Reply

